Six digital TV channels to broadcast on new frequencies starting December 1

Local | 17 Oct 2021 2:00 pm

Six digital TV program channels in Hong Kong will use new transmitting frequencies starting from December 1.

The Office of the Communications Authority urges property owners and managers to act immediately and arrange for contractors to reconfigure their common antenna broadcast distribution systems. Otherwise, residents may not be able to continue to receive the TV programme channels concerned after December 1 midnight.

The six digital TV programme channels are Jade 81 of Television Broadcasts, ViuTVsix 96 and ViuTV 99 of HK Television Entertainment Company, and RTHK TV 31, RTHK TV 32 and RTHK TV 33 of Radio Television Hong Kong.

The transmitting frequencies of other digital TV programme channels -- 76, 77, 82, 83, 84 and 85 -- will remain unchanged.

So far, only around 80 per cent of households in multi-storey buildings with common antenna broadcast distribution systems in Hong Kong have completed the reconfiguration work.

In the remaining 45 days, property owners and managers of those buildings should make arrangements as early as possible, the authority urged.

Upon completion of the system reconfiguration, property managers should inform residents whether they will need to rescan for TV programme channels on their digital TV receivers.

Households using self-provided antennae, including residents of village houses, bungalows and old tenement buildings, do not need to adjust their digital TV receivers or antennae at this stage.

These residents will need to rescan for TV program channels on their digital TV receivers only if they cannot receive any of the TV program channels after December 1 midnight.

Search Archive

Advanced Search
December 2021

Today's Standard