HK, China remain no-go areas in US travel advisory

Local | 7 Aug 2020 10:21 am

The U.S. State Department and Centers for Disease Control  and Prevention on Thursday lifted global advisories recommending U.S. citizens avoid all international travel because of the coronavirus pandemic, and instead issued a raft of high-level warnings for individual countries.

China remains a no-go area. China has been on the State Department’s “Do Not Travel” advisory since June. 

The CDC recommends that travelers avoid all nonessential travel to Hong Kong. Travelers at increased risk for severe illness from COVID-19 should consider postponing all travel, including essential travel, to Hong Kong. The coronavirus risk in Hong Kong is high.

The State Department advises travelers considering China to exercise increased caution "due to  arbitrary enforcement of local laws for purposes other than maintaining law and order, including the use of exit bans.''

In a statement lifting its “Do Not Travel” advisory, the State Department said: “With health and safety conditions improving in some countries and potentially deteriorating in others, the department is returning to our previous system of country-specific levels of travel advice.” 

The CDC also dropped its global advisory recommending against all nonessential international travel due to the pandemic, but nearly all countries remain on its highest Level 3 advisory to avoid all non-essential travel.

A few countries, including Thailand, New Zealand and Fiji, were put on a low risk Level 1 advisory.

The State Department issued updated country-travel specific alerts, including “Level Four: Do Not Travel” advisories for about 30 countries, including India, Russia, Bangladesh, Belize, Bolivia, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Egypt, El Salvador, Haiti, Iran, Kosovo, Kazakhstan, Mongolia, Honduras and Libya.

The State Department also issued numerous new “Level 3: reconsider travel” advisories, including for members of the European Union, the United Kingdom, Vietnam, Sri Lanka, Liberia, Armenia, the Philippines, Laos and Australia.

The United States has barred most non-U.S. citizens from many parts of the world from traveling to the United States, including from the EU and China.

The State Department first issued the Global Level 4 “Do Not Travel” Health Advisory on March 19, while CDC imposed its highest “Level 3” on March 27.


Search Archive

Advanced Search
October 2021

Today's Standard