Lawmakers ejected from Legco panel

Local | 8 May 2020 3:50 pm

Democratic Alliance for the Betterment and Progress of Hong Kong lawmaker, Starry Lee Wai-king, has ejected seven pro-democracy lawmakers from the special Legislative Council House Committee meeting today.

The lawmakers include Eddie Chu Hoi-dick, Raymond Chan Chi-chuen, Andrew Wan Siu-kin,Ted Hui Chi-fung, Alvin Yeung Ngok-kiu, Jeremy Tam Man-ho, and Helena Wong Pik-wan.

Starry Lee Wai-king, said she has the power as the committee chairman of the previous session to chair the special meeting and demanded opposition lawmakers who were protesting to return to their seats.

Pro-democracy lawmakers accused Lee of acting ultra vires and said she has no power to eject lawmakers.

Live footage captured by Radio Television Hong Kong shows Hong Kong Federation of Trade Unions lawmaker Aron Kwok Wai-keung allegedly dragged Raymond Chan to the floor. Video: RTHK.

Search Archive

Advanced Search
June 2020

Today's Standard

Yearly Magazine

Yearly Magazine