Beijing unseats four pro-democracy lawmakers

Local | 11 Nov 2020 1:25 pm

The Hong Kong government announced that four pro-democracy lawmakers are unseated from the LegCo as the Standing Committee of the National People's Congress ruled that they are unfit for continuing their duties.

The Standing Committee of the NPC today ruled that lawmakers will be deemed unfit from their LegCo duties once they are found not to uphold Hong Kong’s Basic Law nor pledge allegiance to the SAR.

Those actions include promoting or supporting claims on "Hong Kong Independence", refusing to recognize China’s sovereignty over Hong Kong, collude with foreign or external forces to interfere in Hong Kong’s affairs and actions that endanger national security.

The Committee said such a decision was applicable to the lawmakers that were disqualified from the 2020 Hong Kong Legislative Council Election.

The government since then announced that in view of the Committee’s decision, four lawmakers including Alvin Yeung Ngok-kiu, Dennis Kwok Wing-hang, Kwok Ka-ki, and Kenneth Leung Kai-cheong will be unseated immediately.

The ousted lawmaker spoke to the media right after the news was announced.

"I remember earlier this year when they criticized me for the way I handled the House Committee meeting, they threatened to disqualify me, they criticized me. At the time I said I was exercising my powers and functions under the rules of procedure, and to observe due process, which I believe is an important principle of the Hong Kong society," said Kwok.

"I said that if observing due process, protecting the systems and functions, and fighting for democracy and human rights leads to the consequence of being disqualified, it would be my honor, and I say the same today," he added.

Search Archive

Advanced Search
January 2021

Today's Standard