Chance for Scots to make amends for loss to Japan

Sports | AGENCE FRANCE-PRESSE 29 Jul 2020

Scotland will get the chance to avenge their defeat by 2019 Rugby World Cup hosts Japan when the Six Nations countries, along with the Japanese and Fiji, compete in an eight-nation tournament from November 14 to December 5.

The final matches of the Six Nations - Italy v Ireland and the full round of final games which were postponed due to the lockdown over the pandemic in March - will be played on October 24 and 31, according to a proposed World Rugby plan.

The eight-nation tournament in Europe will be divided into two pools of four teams.

According to reports, England will face Wales, Ireland and Fiji in one group, with the latter two fixtures at Twickenham and the venue of the first game to be decided.

In the other pool, Scotland will host Japan and France at Murrayfield and face Italy in Rome.

The matches will be played over four consecutive weekends with finals on December 5, when the winner of Pool A will play the winner of Pool B, second in Pool A will meet second in Pool B, and third playing third and fourth against fourth.

Official confirmation is expected in August, but England's Premiership Rugby have already voiced discontent over the dates, with the French League sure to follow suit.

Search Archive

Advanced Search
August 2020

Today's Standard

Yearly Magazine

Yearly Magazine