Youthful activists emerge as new political force, Pan-dems suffer

Monday, September 05, 2016

Pan-democratic veterans suffered heavy defeats and young Occupy activists emerged surprise winners in today's Legislative Council elections.

Some 2.2 million people turned out to vote propelling the voter turnout to an historic-high 58 percent.

The "king of votes'' was social activist and newbie candidate Eddie Chu Hoi-dick, (pictured), garnering 84,121 votes in the New Territories West geographical constituency. The 38-year-old independent, who has called for "democratic self-determination'' for Hong Kong came to prominence in campaigning to save the historic Star Ferry pier in Central in 2005.

Veterans Cyd Ho Sau-lan, Lee Cheuk-yan of the Labour Party; Frederick Fung Kin-kee of the Association for Democracy and People's Livelihood, Neo Democrats' Gary Fan Kwok-wai, Raymond Wong Yuk-man of Proletariat Political Institute, in the pan-democratic camp, all lost their seats in Legco.

In the pro-establishment camp, Bill Tang Ka-piu of the Federation of Trade Unions, who was previously a labor sector legislator who ran for the New Territories East, also lost.

Victors among the young, novice candidates were Nathan Law Kwun-chung (Pictured), of Demosisto,  Democratic Party's Hui Chi-fung (Hong Kong Island), Lau Siu-lai (Kowloon West), Yau Wai-ching of Youngspiration (Kowloon West), Jeremy Tam Man-ho of Civic Party (Kowloon East), Eddie Chu Hoi-dick, Cheng Chung-tai of Civic Passion, Andrew Wan Siu-kin of Democratic Party all in New Territories West; and  Lam Cheuk-ting of Democratic Party and Baggio Leung Chung-hang of Youngspiration in New Territories East.

Vote counting continued as of 12.18 pm and some of the venues cannot be returned to the managements as scheduled.

A spokesman for the Constitutional and Mainland Affairs Bureau said today  that the polling staff concerned would complete the counting as early as possible with an aim of completing the counting and return the venues to the venue managements before noon.

"We appeal to the community, particularly the managements and users of the affected venues, for their understanding and for bearing the inconvenience caused as a result of the failure to return the venues on time, and to allow the counting staff to continue to use the venues as counting stations. We believe that the smooth conduct of the Legislative Council election is the common goal of the society at large," said the spokesman.

About 170,000 registered electors of the traditional functional constituencies cast their votes in their respective functional constituency, representing a provisional cumulative turnout rate of about 74 percent. About 1.98 million electors cast their votes in the District Council (second) functional constituency election. The provisional cumulative turnout rate is about 57 percent.

In the geographical constituencies, those who won were:

Hong Kong Island (6 seats)

Nathan Law Kwun-chung

Hui Chi-fung

Tanya Chan Suk-chong

Regina Ip Lau Suk-yee,

Kwok Wai-keung

Horace Cheung Kwok-kwan

Kowloon West (6 seats)

Ann Chiang Lai-wan

Priscilla Leung Mei-fun

Lau Siu-lai

Claudia Mo Ching Mo-man

Helena Wong Pik-wan

Yau Wai-ching

Kowloon East (5 seats)

Wilson Or Chong-shing

Paul Tse Wai-chun

Wu Chi-wai

Wong Kwok-kin

Jeremy Tam Man-ho

New Territories West (9 seats)

Eddie Chu Hoi-dick

Cheng Chung-tai

Kwok Ka-ki

Andrew Wan Siu-kin

Michael Tien Puk-sun

Leung Che-cheung

Chan Han-pan

Alice Mak Mei-kuen

Junius Ho Kwan-yiu

New Territories East (9 seats)

Alvin Yeung Ngok-kiu

Fernando Cheung Chiu-hung

Raymond Chan Chi-chuen

Lam Cheuk-ting

Baggio Leung Chung-hang

Leung Kwok-hung

Elizabeth Quat

Gary Chan Hak-kan

Eunice Yung Hoi-yan.