State legislators extend Legco tenure for a year

Local | 11 Aug 2020 6:49 pm

State legislators have passed the proposal to extend operation of the sixth Legislative Council of the Hong Kong, state media reported.

The Standing Committee of the 13th National People's Congress (NPC), China's top legislature, approved the proposal. The vote was unanimous.

Whether the disqualified lawmakers could reenter the legislature is up to the government of Hong Kong  to decide, Tam Yiu-chung, Hong Kong's delegate on the NPC Standing Committee, told the state daily Global Times today after the vote.

Tam said  the NPC Standing Committee decided to handle questions raised by the HKSAR government, not by others. "Other questions were left for the HKSAR government to handle in accordance with the law," he said. 

Dennis Kwok, Alvin Yeung, Kwok Ka-ki and Kenneth Leung were banned from contesting in the September 6  election.

After September 30,  the sixth Legco will continue performing duties for no less than a year until the seventh Legco starts its four-year term, according to the decision.

On July 28, Chief Executive Carrie Lam submitted a report to the Central People's Government, proposing the delay of the seventh-term Legco election, originally scheduled for September 6, by a year due to a surge in coronavirus patients in the city.

The State Council, said on July 29 that it supports the Executive Council's decision to postpone the election. 
Considering Lam's proposal lawful, reasonable and consistent with the public interest, the State Council then submitted a proposal to the 13th NPC Standing Committee, state media said.

Search Archive

Advanced Search
October 2020

Today's Standard

Yearly Magazine

Yearly Magazine