A dozen nominees disqualified from running in Legco election

Local | 30 Jul 2020 4:10 pm

The government said in a statement today that it agrees with and supports the decision of Returning Officers to invalidate 12 nominees for this year's Legislative Council election.

Pro-democracy incumbent lawmakers, district councilors and activists are among the disqualified nominees.

They include activist Joshua Wong Chi-fung, Southern district councilor Tiffany Yuen Ka-wai, Civic Party lawmakers, Dennis Kwok Wing-hang, Alvin Yeung Ngok-kiu and Kwok Ka-ki, Tsuen Wan district councilor Lester Shum, activist Ventus Lau Wing-hong, activist and former journalist Gwyneth Ho Kwai-lam, and accountancy sector lawmaker Kenneth Leung Kai-cheong.

"Returning Officers clearly state that, in determining the validity of nominations, the core question is whether the nominee has complied with the declaration requirement under section 40(1)(b)(i) of the Legislative Council Ordinance (Cap.542), i.e. to uphold the Basic Law (BL) and pledge allegiance to the HKSAR of the People's Republic of China (PRC)," the government said.

"Under section 40(1)(b)(i) of the Legislative Council Ordinance, nominees for LegCo elections must submit the nomination form in accordance with the statutory nomination procedures. The nomination form must include a signed declaration to the effect that the person will uphold the BL and pledge allegiance to the HKSAR of the PRC," it said.

"Returning Officers have pointed out that, making reference to the HKSAR Court of First Instance's judgment on the Chan Ho Tin case, an intention to uphold the BL in the context of the section 40(1)(b)(i) declaration denotes not just compliance with it, but also an intention to support, promote, and embrace it (paragraphs 132(1) and 142 of the judgment)."

Search Archive

Advanced Search
January 2021

Today's Standard