Eight pro-establishment lawmakers nominated to serve on university councils

Local | 5 Jun 2020 5:11 pm

The Legislative Council House Committee has nominated eight pro-establishment lawmakers to serve on the councils of the University of Hong Kong and The Chinese University of Hong Kong as the terms of some lawmaker members have expired or will expire soon.

No pro-democracy lawmakers attended the meeting today.

The five lawmakers nominated to serve on the HKU council are Abraham Shek Lai-him, Regina Ip Lau Suk-yee, Cheung Kwok-kwan, Vincent Cheng Wing-shun and Jimmy Ng Wing-ka, and three lawmakers nominated to serve on the CUHK council are Tommy Cheung Yu-yan, Alice Mak Mei-kuen, and Lau Kwok-fan.

At the meeting, Jimmy Ng said he is already serving on the council of Hong Kong Polytechnic University and is unsure whether he could also serve on another university's council. House Committee chairwoman, Starry Lee Wai-king, said she believes the term will not be too long, and Ng accepted the nomination.

Search Archive

Advanced Search
July 2020

Today's Standard

Yearly Magazine

Yearly Magazine