Tenure of three Court of Final Appeal judges extended

Local | 22 May 2020 5:11 pm

The terms of office of three non-permanent judges from other common law jurisdictions of the Court of Final Appeal have been extended for three years.

From May 31, the tenure of Mr Justice Robert French and Lord Reed of Allermuir is extended, while Lord Collins of Mapesbury's term is extended from June 30.
The Hong Kong Court of Final Appeal Ordinance provides for a list of non-permanent Hong Kong judges and a list of judges from other common law jurisdictions. The term of appointment of such judges is three years.  That term may be extended for one or more periods of three years by the Chief Executive acting in accordance with the recommendation of the Chief Justice.

Search Archive

Advanced Search
January 2021

Today's Standard