Six scholars named Shaw Laureates

Local | 21 May 2020 6:29 pm

Six scholars have won the three annual Shaw Prizes, each bearing a monetary award of US$1.2 million, the Shaw Prize Foundation announced today.

The Astronomy prize is awarded to Luke Blossom, a professor at the Stanford University in the United States, for his foundational contributions to theoretical astrophysics, especially concerning the fundamental understanding of active galactic nuclei, the formation and collimation of relativistic jets, the energy extraction mechanism from black holes, and the acceleration of particles in shocks and their relevant radiation mechanisms.

Gero Miesenböck, a professor at the University of Oxford in the United Kingdom, Peter Hegemann, a professor at the Humboldt University of Berlin in Germany, and Georg Nagel, a professor at the University of Würzburg in Germany, win the Life Science and Medicine price in equal shares for the development of optogenetics, a technology that has revolutionized neuroscience.

The Mathematical Sciences prize is awarded in equal shares to Alexander Beilinson, a professor at The University of Chicago in U.S., and David Kazhdan, a professor at The Hebrew University of Jerusalem in Israel, for their huge influence on and profound contributions to representation theory, as well as many other areas of mathematics.

The Shaw Prize, an international award established under the auspices of the late entertainment mogul Run Run Shaw in November 2002, honors individuals, regardless of race, nationality, gender and religious belief, who have achieved significant breakthroughs in academic and scientific research or applications and whose works have resulted in a positive and profound impacts on humans.

Search Archive

Advanced Search
June 2020

Today's Standard

Yearly Magazine

Yearly Magazine