Democratic wave buries pro-Beijing camp

Local | 25 Nov 2019 9:35 am

Candidates opposed to the government have prevailed overwhelmingly in District Council elections yesterday in a stunning rejection of pro-establishment candidates, and by extension, Carrie Lam Cheng Yuet-ngor's administration.

In the final count, out of  452 seats, pan-democrats swept to victory in 347.  They won 17 of 18 districts.

The pro-government candidates only managed 60 seats. The independents secured 45. 

The vote count in 452 constituencies was completed at 12:25pm today. The counting of about 2.94 million ballot papers was completed in about 13 hours after polling ended last night, the Electoral Affairs Commission, said in a statement at 2:59pm.

The pro-establishment camp lost more than 240 seats compared with 2015.
Opposition candidates took nearly 90 percent of the seats up for grabs, snapping up a huge majority of the nearly three million votes cast.

Mass rally organizer Jimmy Sham Tsz-kit, the convener of the Civil Human Rights Front, who had been savagely beaten with hammers by assailants last month, was among the winners.

Political heavyweights such as Michael Tien and the loathed figure Junius Ho Kwan-yiu, who is protected by minders, were among those defeated.  Cary Lo Chun-yu defeated Ho in Lok Tsui in Tuen Mun. Tien was ousted from Discovery Park in Tsuen Wan by Lau Cheuk-yu.

Federation of Trade Unions lawmaker Alice Mak Mei-kuen, also lost.

Pro-Beijing  Democratic Alliance for the Betterment and Progress of Hong Kong, party leader Starry Lee Wai-king hung on to her seat in To Kwa Wan North, in Kowloon City.

In South Horizons West, Kelvin Lam ousted New Poeple's Party's Judy Chan. Joshua Wong Chi-fung was barred rom contesting in this consituency.

The result has far-reaching implications: the pro-democracy camp has wrested control of 117 seats on the Chief Executive Election Committee for the 2022 Chief Executive Election, control of all but one district councils, as well as the district council functional constituency seat in the next Legislative Council.-RTHK/The Standard. Photo: AP/Sing Tao


Search Archive

Advanced Search
April 2021

Today's Standard