Night of glittering achievements

Local | 28 Mar 2019

The Leader of the Year Award organized by Sing Tao News Corporation Limited entered its 25th anniversary this year.

The Awards Presentation Ceremony held on Tuesday night was particularly meaningful as 2018 was the 80th anniversary of Sing Tao Daily. Five categories of distinguished Leader of the Year winners were honored at the gala event.

Michael Wu Wei-Kuo, chairman and managing director of Hong Kong Maxim's Group, triumphed in the Commerce & Industry / Finance category.

The Hong Kong Amateur Athletic Association won in the Community/Public Affairs/Environment & Conservation category.

Li Zexiang, Professor of the Department of Electronic and Computer Engineering at the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, won in the Education/Professions/Technology & Innovation category.

The winner in Sports/Culture/Performing Arts is the family of Ho Iu-kwong, an art collection donor.

Eric Gnock Fah, Ethan Lin and Bernie Xiong, co-founders of Klook Travel Technology Limited, jointly received the Young Entrepreneur prize.

The awards recognize the achievements of the winners who have made outstanding contributions to promote Hong Kong's development, linking the city to Greater China and the international community, and enhancing the international image and status of Hong Kong.

The Leader of the Year 2018 awards presentation ceremony was held at the Grand Hyatt Hong Kong. Chief Executive Carrie Lam Cheng Yuet-ngor attended the ceremony, which was hosted by Sing Tao News Corporation chairman Charles Ho Tsu-kwok.

In his opening speech, Ho thanked Lam and industry leaders for their support of Sing Tao and for attending the ceremony.

Many public figures attended, creating a dynamic atmosphere.

Prize presenters included Carrie Lam, Financial Secretary Paul Chan Mo-po; the director of Jao Tsung-I Petite Ecole at the University of Hong Kong, Lee Chack-fan; the president of the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Wei Shyy; and the president of the University of International Business and Economics, Wang Jiaqiong.

Government officials and guests from the commerce, education and entertainment sectors also attended.

Guests included the Chief Secretary for Administration, Matthew Cheung Kin-chung; the Secretary for Justice, Teresa Cheng Yeuk-wah; senior government officialsLaw Chi-kwong, John LeeKa-chiu, PatrickNip Tak-kuen, James Henry Lau Jr, Sophia Chan Siu-chee; the Commissioner of Police, StephenLo Wai-chung; and Youth Development Commission vice-chairman Lau Ming-wai.

All members of the judging panel, chaired by Chow Chung-kong, non-official member of the Executive Council, are community leaders. The six committees are the permanent honorary president of the Chinese Manufacturers' Association of Hong Kong, Chan Wing-kee; the adviser of the chairman at Hang Lung Properties Limited, Philip Chen Nan-lok; Legislative Council president Andrew Leung Kwan-yuen; Emeritus Professor of Surgery at the Chinese University of Hong Kong Arthur Li Kwok-cheung; the president of the World Organization of Family Doctors, Donald Li Kwok-tung; and the founding president of the Academy of Sciences of Hong Kong, Tsui Lap-chee.

The awards have acknowledged more than 100 outstanding leaders for their contributions to Hong Kong and for serving as an inspiration to the younger generation.

Search Archive

Advanced Search
June 2019

Today's Standard

Yearly Magazine

Yearly Magazine