Fame - not shame - for MeToo

Top News | 7 Dec 2017

The anti-harassment #MeToo movement has been named Time magazine's Person of the Year.

In the wake of sexual misconduct revelations about Harvey Weinstein, Kevin Spacey and dozens of other men, millions worldwide have shared their stories about being sexually harassed and assaulted.

The movement began spontaneously in October after actress-activist Alyssa Milano followed on a suggestion from a friend of a friend on Facebook and tweeted: "If you've been sexually harassed or assaulted write 'me too' as a reply to this tweet."

The hashtag was tweeted nearly a million times in 48 hours.

The movement was founded by activist Tarana Burke on Twitter a decade ago to raise awareness about sexual violence.

Time's announcement was made yesterday on NBC's Today show, where long-time host Matt Lauer was fired last week amid harassment allegations. Today host Savannah Guthrie acknowledged that this year's winner hits close to home and mentioned Lauer by name.

The two runners-up were President Xi Jinping and US counterpart Donald Trump, himself accused of sexual misconduct by numerous women. He has denied any wrongdoing.


Search Archive

Advanced Search
October 2018

Today's Standard

Yearly Magazine

Yearly Magazine