Pakistan sign on for HK Sixes

Sports | 11 Oct 2017

Pakistan and New Zealand Kiwis complete the lineup for the Hong Kong World Sixes at the Kowloon Cricket Club this month.

The two sides join hosts Hong Kong, Australia, Sri Lanka, South Africa, Bangladesh and the Marylebone Cricket Club in the eight-team tournament to be played on October 28 and 29.

Pakistan are five-time winners of the competition and have finished as runners-up on a further four occasions, including at the last edition won by South Africa in 2012.

The Kiwis are an invitational side featuring some of the country's top exponents of the game, with Peter Fulton confirmed as captain.

"We are delighted that teams from some of cricket's leading nations are lining up to support the return of the Hong Kong World Sixes," Cricket Hong Kong director Jonathan Cummings said.

Pakistan's success in Hong Kong "have made them nearly synonymous with the Sixes," added Cummings, who warned that the team "are intent on picking up where they left off in 2012."

And with the Kiwis promising to be a competitive force as well, Cummings predicted a fantastic weekend of fast- paced cricket at the Sixes.

South Africa have already announced their squad, while Bangladesh have named a number of exciting young prospects in their squad.

Early bird ticketing has been extended to Friday. Tickets are on sale via ticketflap.

SQUADS: SOUTH AFRICA - Sarel Erwee, Aubrey Swanepoel, Corne Dry, Jerry Nqolo, Somila Seyibokwe, Ferisco Adams, Farhaan Sayanvala; BANGLADESH - Afif Hossain, Saif Hasan, Mahidul Islam Ankon, Monirul Islam, Abul Hasan, Qazi Onik.

Search Archive

Advanced Search
July 2018

Today's Standard

Yearly Magazine

Yearly Magazine