Jailed Legco protesters allowed to take their cases to the Court of Final Appeal

Local | 14 Nov 2017 5:35 pm

The Court of Appeal today gave the green light to eight out of 12 activists, jailed in August for trying to smash into the Legislative Council building in 2014, to take their cases to the city's top court.

In August, 13 activists were sentenced between eight and 13 months' imprisonment after the Department of Justice's successful bid to overturn the community service orders handed down by Eastern Magistrates' Courts in December 2015.

They were convicted of unlawful assembly in forcing open glass doors with bamboo poles and breaking apart security barricades to oppose a funding vote for a development in northeastern New Territories.

The 13 activists include Leung Hiu-yeung, Raphael Wong Ho-ming, Lau Kwok-leung, Leung Wing-lai, Ivan Lam Long-yin, Billy Chiu Hin-chung, Chu Wai-chung, Willis Ho Kit-wang, Kole Chow Koot-yin, Yim Man-wa, Kwok Yiu-cheong, Wong Kan-yuen and Chan Pak-shan.

Only Billy Chiu Hin-chung did not apply to appeal at the Court of Final Appeal today.

Search Archive

Advanced Search
October 2018

Today's Standard

Yearly Magazine

Yearly Magazine