By-elections for vacant Legco seats set for March 11

Local | 14 Sep 2017 6:59 pm

Legislative Council by-elections to four vacant seats including the vacancies for the three geographical constituencies of Hong Kong Island, Kowloon West and New Territories East, and the vacancy for the Architectural, Surveying, Planning and Landscape functional constituency, will be held on March 11, the Electoral Affairs Commission announced today.

The seats fell vacant after four lawmakers were disqualified for failure to take the oaths of office in accordance with the relevant law. They had failed to follow the exact oath in form and content.

Disqualified lawmakers, Sixtus Baggio Leung Chung-hang and Yau Wai-ching, recently lost their final appeal to be reinstated. They are both members of Younspiration and said following the Court of Final Appeal ruling that they will not stand for election.

Lau Siu-lai, "Long Hair” Leung Kwok-hung, Nathan Law Kwun-chung, and Edward Yiu Chung-yim, have also been disqualified. Leung is appealing the court ruling against him.

Leung, Lau, Law, and Yiu were disqualified by the High Court in July for not taking their oaths of office properly. (Pictured, from left, Edward Yiu Chung Yim, Leung Kwok-hung?Nathan Law Kwun-chung and Lau Siu-lai)

Search Archive

Advanced Search
May 2018

Today's Standard

Yearly Magazine

Yearly Magazine