US, French scholars named Shaw Laureates

Local | 21 May 2019 6:03 pm

Two American and a French scholars have won the three annual Shaw Prizes, each bearing a monetary award of US$1.2 million, the Shaw Prize Foundation announced today.

The Astronomy prize is awarded to Edward C Stone, David Morrisroe Professor of Physics and Vice Provost for Special Projects at the California Institute of Technology in U.S., for his leadership in the Voyager project, which has, over the past four decades, transformed understanding of the four giant planets and the outer solar system, and has now begun to explore interstellar space.

Maria Jasin, a professor at Cornell University's Weill Cornell Graduate School of Medical Sciences and investigator at the Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center in U.S., is awarded the Life Science and Medicine prize for her work showing that localized double strand breaks in DNA stimulate recombination in mammalian cells. This seminal work was essential for and led directly to the tools enabling editing at specific sites in mammalian genomes.

The Mathematical Sciences prize is awarded to Michel Talagrand, a professor of mathematics at the Sorbonne University in France, for his work on concentration inequalities, on suprema of stochastic processes and on rigorous results for spin glasses.

The presentation ceremony is scheduled for September 25 in Hong Kong.

The Shaw Prize, an international award established under the auspices of the late entertainment mogul Run Run Shaw in November 2002, honors individuals, regardless of race, nationality, gender and religious belief, who have achieved significant breakthroughs in academic and scientific research or applications and whose works have resulted in a positive and profound impacts on humans.

Search Archive

Advanced Search
September 2019

Today's Standard

Yearly Magazine

Yearly Magazine